Bloodline Limit | Evolution Path of the Sharingan Eyes

Sharingan is a powerful dōjutsu (eye technique) in "Naruto." It is divided into different stages, including one tomoe, two tomoe, and three tomoe. The more quantity of tomoe, the stronger the Sharingan's abilities become. It has perceived function, allowing the user to view chakra networks, see through opponents' movements, and decipher seals. Additionally, it has the ability of the hypnotic eye, allowing user to cast Genjutsu to control rivals and replicate and decipher non-kekkei genkai Ninjutsu, Taijutsu, and Genjutsu.

Sharingan evolution chart

The Mangekyō Sharingan is an advanced form of Sharingan, and each person's Mangekyō Sharingan has unique visual characteristics. A common feature is three Tomoes are connected to form various patterns. The highest state of Mangekyō Sharingan requires experiencing intense negative emotions, often triggered by the death of a loved one. Its pupil powers are enhanced compared to the ordinary Sharingan, including abilities such as copying, hypnotizing, and observation, and it harbors a unique powerful technique developed based on the original owner's domain. However, there are significant risks and side effects when using them, potentially leading to blindness with excessive use.

In the official history of "Naruto," the Ninjas who unlocked the Mangekyo Sharingan eye include Kaguya Clan's Hagoromo Otsutsuki, Indra Otsutsuki, Madara Uchiha, Izuna Uchiha, Fugaku Uchiha, Kakashi Hatake, Shisui Uchiha, Itachi Uchiha, and Sasuke Uchiha.

Uchiha Obito sharingan eye

After witnessing the death of Haruno Rin, Uchiha Obito experienced intense negative emotions, unlocking the Mangekyō Sharingan, and showing powerful divine abilities. He can use the ultimate pupil technique Susanoo and the complete Susanoo.

Kakashi Hatake sharingan eye

Kakashi Hatake inherited the Sharingan from Uchiha Obito, who feigned his death. At the same time that Uchiha Obito activated the Mangekyō Sharingan, Kakashi also awakened the ocular prowess in his single eye, enabling him to utilize the ultimate Dojutsu Susanoo and its complete form, Perfect Susanoo.

Uchiha Shisui sharingan eye

Uchiha Shisui unlocked the Mangekyō Sharingan for reasons unknown during the Third Ninja War. His Sharingan possesses the power of both eyes, allowing him to use the Ultimate Eye Technique Susanoo and the Complete Susanoo.

Itachi Uchiha sharingan eye

Itachi Uchiha awakened Mangekyō Sharingan after witnessing Shisui's death and the Uchiha Clan massacre. His Mangekyō Sharingan had Tsukuyomi in the left eye and Amaterasu in the right eye, allowing him to use the ultimate techniques of Susanoo and Perfect Susanoo.

Sasuke Uchiha sharingan eye

Sasuke Uchiha obtained Mangekyō Sharingan during a duel with Itachi, triggered by witnessing Itachi's death and learning the truth. His left eye had Amaterasu, and his right eye had Kagutsuchi, allowing him to use the ultimate techniques Susanoo and Perfect Susanoo. Absorbing the chakra of the tailed beasts further strengthened his abilities.

Fugaku Uchiha

Fugaku Uchiha is Sasuke and Itachi's father, who unlocked Mangekyō Sharingan during the Third Great Ninja War after witnessing his friends sacrifice for him in the Third Ninja War. The specific abilities of his Mangekyō Sharingan are unknown.

Izuna Uchiha and Madara Uchiha

Izuna Uchiha and Madara Uchiha have been practicing martial arts and eye power since they were young. In order to grow their eyes power, they attacked their close person and finally obtained the Mangekyō Sharingan. Izuna's eye abilities are unclear, but when on the brink of death, he transplanted his eyes to his younger brother Uchiha Madara, turning Madara's eyes into the Eternal Mangekyō Sharingan.

Eternal Mangekyō Sharingan is an advanced form formed by merging two Mangekyō Sharingan eyes. It requires transplanting another Mangekyō Sharingan eye onto an individual who has already awakened one. The success rate is extremely low, and the only ninjas known to have successfully activated the Eternal Mangekyō Sharingan are Uchiha Madara and Uchiha Sasuke.

Uchiha Madara

Uchiha Madara transplanted Shisui's Mangekyō Sharingan into himself, becoming the first to possess Eternal Mangekyō Sharingan. His Eternal Mangekyō Sharingan was a fusion of his and Shisui's eyes, developing unique techniques. After transplanting Shisui's Mangekyō Sharingan, Madara unlocked Susanoo, wielding four chakra blades. His eyes could see through shadow clones and Wood Release clones, create Genjutsu spaces, and utilize Susanoo with dual swords, remotely throwing multiple tomoe, and accessing Perfect Susanoo.

Sasuke Uchiha

Sasuke Uchiha, after defeating Tobi, experienced visual deterioration due to excessive use of Mangekyō Sharingan. He chose to undergo surgery to transplant Itachi's eyes, resulting in the manifestation of his new Eternal Mangekyō Sharingan. And after gaining the power of the Sage of Six Paths Hagoromo Ōtsutsuki, Sasuke's left eye evolved into the Rinnegan with six tomoe.

If you are an avid Naruto cosplay fan, click here to get the realistic Sharingan eye contacts.

Back to blog